jump to navigation

Reaction to NUDITY AND AMERICA by get me thinking January 27, 2006

Posted by panamared in Uncategorized.
trackback

In response to the post: Nudity and America written by get me thinking, I agree that Americans are very uptight concerning nudity.  If you go to Europe, you will see many, many nude beaches.  Here in America, few to none of these types of places exist.  Even when vacationing in Florida in Miami Beach, I noticed something very interesting.  I was staying at a hotel that was the hotel of many Europeans on vacation.  At my hotel pool, there were many European women who were topless.  I also saw alot of European men wearing tight speedos(though not exciting to me, it is a valid observation).  The nakedness startled me at first becasue I wasn’t expecting this.  The very same day, I went to visit my friend down the strip at another hotel, which happened to be a hotel that was mainly American tourists.  His pool area was just as any American would “expect” it to be.  Fully clothed people, wearing regular bathing suits.  It was apparent to me that Americans were uptight about their bodies, for no apparent reason.

It seems as though Americans are uptight about sex too.  I once heard that if you go up to 20 women in Europe and ask them, “can we have sex?”  The result is 1 out of every 20 will say “yes.”  Does anyone know if this statistic is valid?  Has any data like this ever actually been collected?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment